Thursday, 1 July 2010

Harrietland - an update

I wrote earlier today about how Harriet Harman and Labour had, sort of, forgotten that they had no councillors in Cornwall.

This was all because, as Paul Waugh blogged, Ms Harman and the Labour Party have launched a campaign to get Labour councillors in all areas where there is a Lib Dem MP to submit a council motion against the VAT increase. I pointed out in my earlier post that they might have a tough time doing this in Cornwall where there are precisely no Labour councillors.

That got me thinking. Are there any other Lib Dem MPs whose local authorities have no Labour representation?

It turns out there are quite a few.

Tom Brake
Annette Brooke
Paul Burstow
Vince Cable
Alistair Carmichael
Ed Davey
Michael Moore
Alan Reid
Adrian Sanders
Sir Robert Smith

If you add them to the three Cornish MPs - Dan Rogerson, Steve Gilbert and Andrew George - that makes a total of thirteen. Not a single Labour councillor exists in the local authorities covered by their constituencies*.

But of course, in Harrietland, everybody has a Labour councillor...

* I've taken the political composition at the time of the last council elections and included district, borough, unitary and county councils as appropriate. If you know of any by-elections or defections since then, please email me and I'd be happy to make a correction.

1 comment:

Nonny Mouse said...

Great research.

Harriet is New Labour - being seen to be doing something is more important than actually achieving anything.